top of page

Illuminae Review


This review is rather long I'm afraid. And full of matcha. I apologize in advance. I am not a big fan of matcha (green tea). No matter how hype it is, I just don't like it. I can still eat it if I have to but I know for certain I will not enjoy it. Imagine there's this new kind of matcha ice cream in town. It's hype. It's the 'it' of all matcha. It isn't served on a bowl or cup or cone. No. It comes in a cloudy bubbly floating cotton candy, wrapped with bows, blasting funky music as it passes. It's matcha, I tell myself. Just because it's dressed up differently doesn't make it non-matcha. I shouldn't try it, right? Of course I tried it. I'm weak. I'm easily swayed by propaganda and funky thing. After all the fanfare and the exploding candies die in my mouth, all I have left is matcha. And in that moment, I literally said, “ Oh. It's you. Matcha.” Illuminae is like matcha to me because Sci Fi in general is my matcha. I don't hate Illuminae. I like it okay but not enough to make me love it. It is an interesting read, but not close to mind-blowing. Some parts are creepy and emotional, strangely I didn't feel 'the feels.' My emotions are perfectly intact, not stirred, not a mess. I expected to be shaken, but nuuuhh. I blame the format for making me unable to feel the feels. The flowing and twirling words are too troublesome for me to read, so I mostly skip them. On the other hand, I laugh several times. Illuminae is quite funny. It has a badass heroine (double bonus) and a very adorable, inappropriate, romantic male lead (triple bonus). In summary, this book is all together awesome though it feels rather flat at the end despite its major twist(s). I know what you would say. “So you will stay away from matcha … er Illuminae next time?” Why would I stay away? If Illuminae sequel comes out, I’ll definitely buy it. Don't try to analyze me. Nearly 4 stars. (less)

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page